Piracy

Yeah, piracy is bad stuff, and the more people do it, the less quality games we will be seeing because developer’s aren’t going to pour all this money into their games if it’s just going to get pirated and defeat their profits.

Evan was recently telling me about how Fallout 3 is a good game. I explained to him that I wouldn’t pay more than $5 or $10 for it. It’s also easily pirated off of the Internet. He assumed I would actually do it and called me something that rhymes with BIC.

I haven’t pirated something in quite a while, it was like two years ago when I got something worthwhile.

But let me tell you something advantageous to companies about pirating that actually happened to me. I once pirated the full version of Half Life 2 just to see what all of the fuss is about, because I don’t think any type of demo existed for the game. After a while of playing I realized the game was super awesome and immediately went out and bought the collector’s edition. I even bought the Orange Box which includes the game as well, so I’ve actually bought the game twice over.

I really think demos would alleviate pirating somehwhat, like I explained up there, I really just wanted to try a game to see if it was worth my money, and it was, so I went and got a legitimate copy. Obviously this isn’t the case for everyone, many people will just download the game and be satisfied and never buy it. That’s a really jerk move, as it drives prices of games higher so you won’t be able to afford games even more.

So, it’s somewhat of a bad on the companies part for not producing a demo so the customer can get a taste, if they like it, they buy the full thing.

An Australian legislator (or senator or governor or something) said that piracy isn’t stealing. He said that because the original is still in its place, and has not been removed in an unauthorized manner, it wasn’t stealing, it’s just making a copy.  He’s right, in a sense, no work has been stolen, no one is claiming they made the game, no discs containing the original content are being stuffed into jackets at wal-mart, people are just distributing copies for free.

I obviously can’t condone piracy, but I always support things with money if I actually like it. I legally purchase music I really like, I hope everyone will do the same.

I have respect for Evan because he thinks pirating is a real jerk thing to do as well. But I think in defense of some pirating, if a demo isn’t released and your junk is pirated more than others, well, you should probably have made a demo.

By the way, this is not attractive. That’s a direct jab at Evan. The caption is “The pirates stole my will to eat!”

So don’t be a pirate, save Keira Knightly from becoming more disgustingly skinny than she already is.

Cheers,

Michael

One Response to Piracy

  1. scottiec809 says:

    I may have to get Fallout 3 from you when I get my desktop. Let me know how it is.

Leave a Reply

