Delicious Lunch Mixed with Adventure

I currently reside in a hotel in the beautiful city of Saint Augustine, Florida. That’s right, I live in a hotel. Free of charge too. You see, I go to Flagler College here, and they ended up with more students than they could handle in their dorms. Fortunately for me, I was one of the eight that they picked to live in the nearby Quality Inn. It’s not the best accomadation, but it’s better than my dorm was last year at MSU and I get my own bathroom. In addition to all of that, I also have access to a swimming pool and hot tub.

And I get all of this at the cost of -$3000. And I saved even more, since I don’t have to get the insanely overpriced meal plan that they force first years to purchase.

And what does this have to do with lunch? Nothing really, it’s just background info, the good stuff is yet to come!

Today, my aunt, uncle, and cousin treated me to a delicious lunch at a fantastic little restaurant whose name I fail to remember. After some deliberation, and a passing fancy toward the Muffalato (…?), I ended up getting Blackened Chicken Nachoes. They were pretty much basic nachoes, but expertly crafted into a masterpiece. They even managed to make the black olives, which I despise, taste great on it. After eating half of my nachoes and saving the other half for later, we got some peanut butter pie. When I think of peanut butter pie, I think of pie crust, filled to the brim with peanut butter.

It sounds pretty nasty, doesn’t it?

Thankfully, the peanut butter pie far exceeded my expectations. It had a chocolate crust, peanut butter filling, a chocolate topping, and whipped cream finished the package. The peanut butter filling was where all the action was though. Instead of being thick and dense like I imagined it would be, it was airy, creamy, and most importantly, delicious.

But as good as the pie was, the adventure that took place on the way to restaurant was even more exciting.

There we were, blazing down the zig-zagging streets of Saint Augustine, my uncle driving like a madman, swerving in and out of traffic. We get to the Ponce de Leon bridge, thinking we made it out of downtown alive, but we soon found out that it could not be farther from the truth. We look back and see a crazed villain of some sort, bearing down on us from behind. My uncle puts the car in 6th gear and zooms forward, but it wasn’t enough, the lunatic behind us had a death wish. He plowed into the back of my uncle’s souped up Toyota 4Runner and shot us forward almost into the car in front of us. Thinking that was it, we got of the bridge and hurriedly turned down some hidden side street.

We thought it was over, but it was far from it.

Just as we thought we were safe, we heard the screeching of tires and felt another impact. This time, my uncle wasn’t going to stand for it. He jumped out of the care and made for the crazed driver. My uncle, who is almost 9 feet tall and is about 250 pounds of pure muscle, isn’t really the violent type at all. In fact, he only wanted to talk to the man about the damages. But the driver was so frightened by the looming giant, that he tossed $100 out of the car and zoomed off to find his next victim.*

*Based on a true story.

One Response to Delicious Lunch Mixed with Adventure

  1. itslupintic says:

    Wish I could have been there. For the blackened chicken nachos, I mean.

Leave a Reply

